The Flare takes Sweepstakes at TCCJA competition


The Flare’s 2014 – 2015 newspaper staff.


The Flare newspaper won Sweepstakes in the Division II newspaper category at the Texas Community College Journalism Association’s annual fall meeting and competition held at the end of October in Austin. The newspaper also received first place in Overall Excellence. The Flare Magazine got an honorable mention in Overall Excellence The event was held in conjunction with the Associated Collegiate Press/College Media Association’s national convention.

KC students received awards in all but one of the newspaper categories, as well as several awards for magazine. They also brought home a few on-site contest awards.

The publications were judged from the fall 2014 and spring 2015 semesters. Rachel Stallard and O. Rufus Lovett were 2014-15 publications advisers. Tory Van Blarcum and Kathryn Agee were editors of The Flare. Sara Holmes was editor of The Flare Magazine.


The Flare’s 2014-2015 newspaper staff.


Kathryn Agee: Second place, Newspaper Column Writing; third place, News Writing; third place, Newspaper In-Depth Reporting; honorable mention, Newspaper News Photo

Daniel Brown: Third place, Newspaper Cartoon

Michael Brown: First place, newspaper Sports Photo

 Leah Bryce: First place, Newspaper Feature writing

Max Cervantes: Third place, Newspaper Column Writing

 E’Lexus Hodge: second place, Newspaper picture page; Third place, newspaper feature photo

 Sara Holmes: First place, Newspaper Picture Page; second place, Newspaper picture page; third place, Magazine Photo

 Tiffany Johnson: First place, Newspaper News Photo; second place, Newspaper picture page; honorable mention Newspaper Sports Action Photo

 Julianna Kendall: Honorable Mention, Newspaper Feature Writing

 Sumeyee Samento: First place, Newspaper Feature Photo

 Tory Van Blarcum: First place, Newspaper Sports Action Photo

 Victoria Whitwell: Honorable Mention, Sports Feature

Newspaper staff: second place, Newspaper Layout/design; third place, Editorial Writing; third place, Newspaper Website; third place, Newspaper Advertising; third place, Newspaper Headline Writing; honorable mention; newspaper in-depth reporting; two honorable mentions, Magazine Layout


The Flare’s 2014 – 2015 photography staff.


The staff  also won numerous Gold Circle Awards through the national Columbia Scholastic Press Association competition.

 Kathryn Agee: Third place, Sidebar Writing; honorable mention, Personal Opinon/Off-campus Issues

Leah Bryce: Honorable mention, Non-fiction Article (The Flare Magazine)

Sarah Holmes: Second place, Photo Story; honorable mention, Photography Portfolio of work (The Flare Magazine)

Tiffany Johnson: Third place, Photography Portfolio of work; second place, Photography Portfolio of work (The Flare Magazine)

John Nieto: Third place, Photo Illustration

Tory Van Blarcum: Second place, Typography – A Designed or Art Headline

Staff: First place, Op-Ed or News Analysis Page Design; third place, Single Subject News or Feature Package, Single Page Design Portfolio of work

Page 7B 4-24-15

The Flare’s first place winning Op-Ed or News Design Page from its April 24, 2015 issue.