Face in the Crowd: Simone Weaver

Name: Simone Weaver
Age: 19
Classification: Sophomore
Major: Radiologic Technology
Hometown: Kaiserslautern, Germany

Q: How did you get into dance?
A: I was in a talent show when I was in second grade where I had to perform a fun dance. My mom saw how happy and energetic I was while I was performing. She always asked me to take a ballet class, but I refused, until I finally gave in and agreed to do it.

Q: You moved to Germany because one of your parents was in the Army; which parent or was it both, and is Germany the only other country you have lived in? How old were you when you moved there?
A: My dad was the only one who was serving in the military. I was born there, and I lived there from birth until the age of 4. My dad was re-stationed to Germany again, so I lived there from the ages 13-17

Q: Why is ballet your favorite type of dance? Do you also do pointe ballet?
A: Ballet is my favorite type of dance because of the discipline, structure, and poise we have to attain while we are in the class. It also reminds me of my mom because she always wanted me to do ballet. I have never had the opportunity to experience pointe, but one day I will try it.

Q: Did you study dance while living in Germany? If so, tell me about that.
A: Yes I was in a summer ballet camp while I was in Germany. Although my ballet teacher was pregnant at the time, I still had a fun experience with the girls that were in my class. At the end of the summer camp, we had a performance for our friends and family!

Q: When did you move back to America, and why?
A: I moved back to America when I was 17 years old because my dad decided to retire in Fort Worth.

Q: Where are you from originally? 
A: Daytona Beach, Florida is where my family and I are from. I enjoy being able to go back there and see all of my family, because growing up I wasn’t always able to attend birthdays, weddings, or funerals because my family and I were always moving from place to place.

Q: How did you choose Kilgore College, and will you transfer to a university from here?
A: I chose Kilgore College because my closest friend told me about the college and how it is a good environment to start off with at first. I am still deciding if I want to transfer or not!

Q: What are some of your interest?
A: Some of my interests are dancing, traveling, going out to eat, and hanging with my family, friends, and boyfriend (Derrick Davis)

Q: When did you start dancing?
A: I started dancing when I was in the second grade.

Q: What’s your favorite type of dance?
A: My favorite type of Dance is Ballet.

Q: How long did you live in Germany?
A: I lived in Germany for 8 years, from birth to age 4, and from age 13-17

Q: What’s some cool events that took place there?
A: Traveling to Venice, Italy for a week, visiting a chocolate factory, and attending a lot of fairs and festivals while learning about German culture were some of the cool events that took place while I lived in Germany.

Q: Do you remember how to say anything in German?
A: I remember how to say a few basic phrases like: hello, how are you doing, good morning, good night.

Q: How was life as an army brat?
A: Life as an army brat was one of the best experiences of my life. I learned more about the German culture, and myself. I also learned how to interact with different people who have lived in all parts of the world!

Q: What is your favorite thing about Germany?
A: My favorite thing about Germany was the food. The food there was so natural, and there was always something new for me to try. I enjoyed eating at restaurants with my friends and family, and I also enjoyed the chocolate and ice cream.

Simone Weaver