Student publication continues sweepstakes streak



KC’s student publications have received top honors in two state competitions, including being named best non-daily college newspaper in the Lone Star State.

That honor came at the April 5-7 Texas Associated Press Managing Editors convention in San Antonio. The Flare, KC’s weekly newspaper, earned first place for best non-daily college/university newspaper in Texas for the fourth consecutive year.

Named best daily college/university paper by APME was The Daily Texan of the University of Texas at Austin.

On the same weekend at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention in Fort Worth, The Flare won sweepstakes in Division 23competition for the 23rd time in 27 years. The Kilgore paper scored 113 points in the TIPA contest.  Rice University placed second with 70 points.

KC student journalists won 25 awards, including 11 first places, at TIPA, which was founded in 1909 and is the oldest collegiate press association in the nation.

“I am so proud of our students. They have worked hard to produce publications that Kilgore College can be proud of,” said Bettye Craddock, Flare adviser.

For the second consecutive year at TIPA, Kilgore students also received top honors for individual excellence. Kasi Dickerson, from Van, was selected

Editor/Director of the Year, and Kris Dobbins, of Kilgore, was named Photojournalist of the Year.

“Kris Dobbins has earned the TIPA Photojournalist of the Year award with his accomplished work involving a variety of subjects including editorial portraits and sports that reaches beyond that expected of most community college students,” said O. Rufus Lovett, Flare photo adviser.

Four Kilgore students placed in the on-site contests: Ashton Johnson of Kilgore, third in newspaper design; Maegan Mitchell of Longview, third in news writing; Jordan Moss of Gladewater, third in radio sports writing; and Randi Vinson-Davis of Henderson, honorable mention in news photography. Students from universities and community colleges compete against each other in the on-site contests.

Two former Flare staffers now attending Stephen F. Austin State University also placed in the live contests: Dickerson, second in magazine design, and Betsy Foreman of Longview, third in advertising.

The Flare also won Best of Show for its March 1 Spring Break edition this semester.

Dickerson was the executive editor of The Flare last spring and Johnson and Brittani Pfau of White Oak were co-executive editors in the fall.

The Ranger Yearbook received 11 awards, including three firsts in yearbook Division 2. Elizabeth Wisdom of Van was the editor of the 2012 Ranger Yearbook.

The Flare Magazine took home seven awards, including two first places. Dickerson and Wisdom were co-editors of The Flare Magazine.

Lovett and Craddock co-advise the Ranger yearbook and The Flare Magazine.

Individual Awards


  • Sheniece Chappell (Kilgore) – 2nd, sports page design
  • Kasi Dickerson (Van) – 1st, headline;  1st, information graphic; 1st, feature page design; 1st, special edition/section; 1st, in-depth reporting; 2nd, opinion/editorial page design; 3rd, sports page design; HM, feature story; HM, single subject page design
  • Kris Dobbins (Kilgore) – 2nd, sports action; 2nd, picture story
  • Ashley Forrestier (Kilgore) – 1st, editorial cartoon
  • Kelly Gillit (Gladewater) – 1st, illustration; HM, ad design
  • Travis Hull (Kilgore) – 3rd, general column
  • Ashton Johnson (Kilgore) – 2nd, page one design
  • Jamie Maldonado (Longview) – 1st, feature story
  • Brittani Pfau (White Oak) – 2nd, page one design; 1st, editorial; 3rd, news feature story
  • Keira Phipps (Arlington) – 2nd, sports page design
  • Jonathen Ruesch (Gilmer) – 1st, information graphic;  1st opinion/editorial page design; 2nd, news photo
  • Jessica Stovall (Lufkin) – 1st sports feature story; 2nd, sports page design
  • Randi Vinson-Davis (Henderson) – 2nd feature photo; 2nd picture story; 2nd sports action photo;
  • Overall Excellence: tie with Midwestern State University


  • Anup Bhandari (Kilgore); Matthew Blanchard ( Hallsville), Cara Herbert (Longview), n Jake Scarborough (Henderson), Randi Vinson-Davis (Henderson), Elizabeth n Wisdom (Van) – 3rd, academics package
  • Briley Boren (Center), Kasi Dickerson (Van), Kris Dobbins (Kilgore), Jamie Maldonado (Longview), Jake Scarborough (Henderson), Randi Vinson-Davis (Henderson) and Elizabeth Wisdom (Van), 3rd academics package
  • Kasi Dickerson (Van) – 2nd, feature/student life package
  • Jamie Maldonado (Longview) – HM, sports action
  • Randi Vinson-Davis (Henderson) – 2nd, academics package
  • Elizabeth Wisdom (Van) – 1st, academic photo; 1st, feature photo; 2nd, cover design; HM, opening package; HM, sports package


  • Kasi Dickerson (Van) – 1st, news feature; 1st, story package; 2nd, picture story; 3rd column/essay;
  • Daniel Guy (Longview) – 2nd, column/essay
  • Jamie Maldonado (Longview) – 2nd, picture story
  • Randi Vinson-Davis (Henderson) – 2nd, picture story; HM, general news photo
  • Elizabeth Wisdom (Van) – 1st, story package; 2nd, illustration; 2nd, picture story