Many of you may have gotten away with it, but drinking and driving is one of the most stupid things you can do.
The penalties for a DUI in Texas are costly. A first offense carries a fine of up to $2,000, up to six months behind bars, a driver’s license suspension of up to one year and an annual fine of $1,000 just to keep your driving privileges.
It gets even stiffer with a second DUI. The fine can double in cost up to $4,000, jail time can reach up to one year, you can kiss that license goodbye for up to two years, and those annual fines to keep the right to drive hit $1,500.
Want to try it a third time? That fine can reach $10,000, you face two to 10 years in jail, up to a two-year loss of your license and annual fines of $2,000 to keep driving are heading your way.
Does loss of money, driving rights, and your freedom not scare you enough? The potential for life-changing injuries during a wreck, such as paralysis or even being left comatose increase when driving drunk. Not to mention the chances you will hurt another person. Intoxication assault penalties in Texas can range between two to 10 years of jail time and a fine up to $10,000.
Do not forget you are gambling with your own life when you get behind the wheel drunk. According to www.alcoholalert.com, Texas led the nation in drunk driving fatalities with 1,450 in 2011. Even if you remain unshaken at the prospect of losing your own life, how would you like to live with taking someone else’s life? Intoxication manslaughter in Texas carries a sentence of two to 20 years in prison and guilt that can last a lifetime.
If you think any of these penalties are different on the water, think again. A BUI (boating under the influence) in Texas carries the same repercussions as driving a motor vehicle on land.
Do you really need more reasons to get behind the wheel impaired? Do yourself and everyone else a favor and be smart, not just over Spring Break, but for the rest of your life.