Candidates file for board vacancies

Staff Writer

Two of the three current KC Board of Trustees members who are up for re-election have filed: Robert D. Heath, Voting Unit 1, Place 7, in the South Zone, and Joe Carrington, Voting Unit 2, Place 8, in the North Zone.

The third candidate up for re-election is R.E. “Sonny” Spradlin, a five-term Board of Trustees member.  Spradlin holds the ninth Place in Voting Unit 3 in the Central Zone.

Brian Nutt, pastor of Grace Fellowship Church of Kilgore, has turned in his application to seek Spradlin’s seat.

Spradlin declined to say whether or not he would be filing again.

“I could even wait until the last day to decide,” Spradlin said.

All three of these members’ terms expire in May.

The application process will remain open through Friday, March 1. Voters in the Kilgore College District will elect three people to the nine-member board in the May 11 election.

Early voting will be Monday, April 29, through Friday, May 7.

Applications for a place on the ballot can be picked up in the Assistant to the President’s Office, or in the Office of Institutional Planning in the McLaurin Administration Building on the Kilgore campus.

Office hours are 7:45 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and 7:45 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. on Friday.

To receive forms by mail, call Nancy Law at 903-983-8101 or Micheal Turpin at 903-983-8207.

Voting Unit No. 1 consists of the Overton and Leverett’s Chapel independent school districts and the West Rusk County Consolidated Independent School District.

Voting Unit No. 2 consists of the Gladewater, White Oak, and Sabine independent school districts.

Voting Unit No. 3 consists of the Kilgore Independent School District.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *